Skip to main content

May 8, 2026

Activate Version History

Every configuration file update is saved as a new version. You can review all modifications comprehensively, and revert to a specific version on demand without having to restore from backup.

Procedure

  1. Start the DEM Management Console.
  2. Click Configure, and then click the Version History tab.
  3. Select the Version History check box.
  4. Edit the Maximum number of versions per configuration file value to specify how many versions of each configuration file you want to maintain. You can configure up to 1000 versions. The default value is 20.

5. Click OK.

Results

The Version History tab is available on all configuration settings. Whenever a setting is edited, a new entry is added to the Version History tab with the version number, the date and time when the change was made, and the name of the administrator who made the change.

Version History Features

FeatureDescription
CompareSelect any two versions from the list and click Compare to see what configuration settings have changed.
  • The old version is displayed on the left, with deleted settings displayed in red strikethrough text.
  • The new version is displayed on the right, with new settings displayed in green and underlined.

Note: The Compare button is enabled only when exactly two versions are selected.

Import/Export and Profile Cleanup differences can be displayed in two ways:

  • Compare effective settings - compares the settings based on how FlexEngine would process it (whitespace and comments are ignored, content of repeated sections is merged, sections are displayed in a particular order, and their content is displayed in alphabetical order).
  • Compare original settings - compares the settings exactly as they were entered.
RestoreTo restore to a particular version, select a version from the list and click Restore.
DeleteTo delete a particular version, select a version from the list and click Delete. The latest version cannot be deleted.

Delete Version History

Disabling the Version History feature allows you to delete the entire version history.

If you do not want to retain any version history information, click Delete version history.

Was this page helpful?

Provide feedback for this topic

Was this topic helpful?

Please do not include any personal or confidential information.

Generating link…