Skip to main content

November 18, 2025

How to Troubleshoot Problems with the Omnissa Horizon Client

You can solve most Horizon Client problems by restarting or resetting remote desktops or published applications, or by reinstalling Horizon Client.

How Do I Restart a Remote Desktop in the Horizon Client?

If the remote desktop operating system stops responding, you might need to restart a remote desktop. Restarting a remote desktop is similar to using the Windows operating system restart command. The remote desktop operating system usually prompts you to save any unsaved data before it restarts.

You can restart a remote desktop only if an administrator has activated the restart feature for the remote desktop and the remote desktop is powered on. You can restart only one remote desktop at a time.

For information about activating the desktop restart feature, see the Desktops and Applications in Omnissa Horizon 8 document.

Procedure

Use the Restart command.

OptionDescription
From the desktop selector screenRight-click the desktop icon or click the [] button next to the desktop icon, and select Restart.
From the Session Management CenterClick the Settings toolbar button in the upper-right corner of the desktop and application selector screen, open the Session Management Center, select the remote desktop session, and click Restart. You can also open the Session Management Center by right-clicking the remote desktop icon in the shelf and clicking Session Management Center. Note: A remote desktop session does not appear in the Session Management Center unless you connect to and then disconnect from the remote desktop.

Results

The operating system in the remote desktop restarts and the client disconnects and logs out from the remote desktop.

What to do next

Wait an appropriate amount of time for the system to restart before you attempt to reconnect to the remote desktop.

Reset Remote Desktops or Published Applications

You might need to reset a remote desktop if the desktop operating system stops responding and restarting the remote desktop does not solve the problem.

Resetting a remote desktop is the same as pressing the Reset button on a physical PC to force the PC to restart. Any files that are open on the remote desktop are closed and are not saved.

Resetting a published application quits the application without saving any unsaved data. You can reset all running published applications, or you can reset specific published application sessions.

You can reset a remote desktop only if an administrator has enabled the reset feature for the remote desktop and the remote desktop is powered on. You can reset only one remote desktop at a time.

Procedure

  1. To reset all running published applications, click the Settings toolbar button in the upper-right corner of the desktop and application selector screen, scroll down to Reset all your running applications, and click Reset.

  2. To reset a published application session, click the Settings toolbar button in the upper-right corner of the desktop and application selector screen, open the Session Management Center, select the Remote Apps button for the application session, and click Terminate.

    You can also open the Session Management Center by right-clicking the published application icon in the shelf and clicking Session Management Center.

  3. To reset a remote desktop, use the Reset command.

    OptionDescription
    From the desktop selector screenRight-click the desktop icon or click the [] button next to the desktop icon, and select Restart.
    From the Session Management Center Click the Settings toolbar button in the upper-right corner of the desktop and application selector screen, open the Session Management Center, select the remote desktop session, and click Reset. You can also open the Session Management Center by right-clicking the remote desktop icon in the shelf and clicking Session Management Center. Note: A remote desktop session does not appear in the Session Management Center unless you connect to and then disconnect from the remote desktop.

Results

When you reset a remote desktop, the operating system in the remote desktop restarts and the client disconnects and logs out from the remote desktop. When you reset published applications, the published applications quit.

What to do next

Wait an appropriate amount of time for system to restart before attempting to reconnect to the remote desktop or published application.

Uninstall Horizon Client for Chrome

To uninstall the Horizon Client for Chrome app, you remove it in the same way that you remove other Chrome apps.

Procedure

When you reset a remote desktop, the operating system in the remote desktop restarts and the client disconnects and logs out from the remote desktop. When you reset published applications, the published applications quit.

  1. Log in to the Chrome device.
  2. Right-click the Horizon Client app and select Uninstall.

What to do next

To reinstall the Horizon Client for Chrome app, see Install or Upgrade Horizon Client for Chrome.

Enable Log Collection

When you enable log collection, Horizon Client collects log information that can help Omnissa troubleshoot problems with Horizon Client.

You cannot enable log collection after you connect to a remote desktop or published application.

Prerequisites

Connect to a server.

Procedure

  1. Click the Settings toolbar button in the upper-right corner of the desktop and application selector window.

  2. To enable log collection, turn on the Enable Collect Log option in the Settings window.

    Note: If you are enabling log collection for the first time, the Save dialog box appears automatically. Specify a folder location for the initial log and click Save. The initial log uses the Basic log level.

    The path to the log file appears under the Enable Collect Log option in the Settings window.

  3. To change the level of detail captured by the log, select the Basic, Debug, or Trace log level.

  4. To change the log file path, click the displayed path, browse to and select a folder in which to save the log file, and click Save.

    The new path appears under the Enable Collect Log option in the Settings window.

  5. To close the Settings window, click Close.

Results

Horizon Client collects and saves logging information continuously until you quit Horizon Client.

Was this page helpful?

Provide feedback for this topic

Was this topic helpful?

Please do not include any personal or confidential information.

Generating link…