If a failure occurs during self-service migration, migration stops and the system attempts to roll back all changes made up to the point at which the failure is detected.
When rolling back, the system reverses the actions that it took up to the point at which the failure occurs. See the examples in the following sections.
Note: If you or your admins changed something in the Horizon Cloud environment which involves a migrated resource, such as creating a new pool based on one of the migrated images, the self-service migration's rollback operation skips deleting the image from the Horizon Cloud environment. In that situation, you might need to manually clean up the Horizon Cloud environment to return it to a clean state before re-trying the migration.
If your pod is successfully migrated but the Finalize action is not yet performed on that pod, and you make agent updates in dedicated pools in the Horizon Cloud environment and then you decide to revert things to your first-gen environment, such dedicated pools might not work properly within the first-gen pod.
Rollbacks During Pre-Build
When the system detects a failure during the pre-build phase, the system:
- Deletes the Horizon Edge deployment and deletes the copies of the published images and App Volumes related entities that had been copied into the Horizon Cloud environment.
- Restores the copied configuration values to the first-gen control plane and pod and deletes the configuration from the Horizon Cloud environment.
Rollbacks During the Maintenance Window
When the system detects a failure during the maintenance window phase, the system:
- Unpairs those migrated dedicated desktop VMs from the Horizon Cloud environment and pairing them back to the first-gen deployment.
- Shrinks the migrated floating desktop pools and re-expanding them back in the first-gen deployment.
- Rolls back the actions done in the pre-build phase. As stated in the preceding section, the system:
- Deletes the Horizon Edge deployment and deletes the copies of the published images, and App Volumes related entities that had been copied into the Horizon Cloud environment.
- Restores the copied configuration values to the first-gen control plane and pod and deletes the configuration from the Horizon Cloud environment.
App Volumes Applications Remaining in the Horizon Cloud Console After Rollback
On rare occasions after a migration rollback, when you log in to the Horizon Cloud console, you might see App Volumes applications. Re-scheduling the migration on the rolled-back pod is unaffected by having such App Volumes applications present in the Horizon Cloud environment. When you decide to re-schedule the pod's migration, the system resumes migration of the App Volumes applications.
Manually Rolling Back a Migration
Within a menu on the console's Migration page, you will see a Revert action. Use this action only on a case-by-case basis and in coordination with guidance from Horizon Migration Support Team.
Was this page helpful?